Kurgan-van Hentenryk Chair in Business History

The Kurgan-van Hentenryk Chair in Business History of the Solvay Brussels School of Economics and Management (Université Libre de Bruxelles) was launched in 2015 and aims at promoting and spreading research in the field of business history, with a special emphasis on the history of the knowledge economy. Through its annual conference, the Chair brings together opinion makers from the international academic world, politics, finance and business, and society as a whole around themes of general interest.

The Kurgan-van Hentenryk (hereafter KvH) Chair in Business History aims at advancing and diffusing research on the history of the knowledge economy. The purpose of the chair is threefold.

  • First, it is designed to perform research in the field of business history. The Chair’s research focus lies on the comparative analysis of the origins, development, and consequences of the science and technology-based industry which has emerged as a global phenomenon from the 1970s onwards.

  • Second, in terms of research diffusion, the KvH Chair intends to give students from the Solvay Brussels School in Economy and Management (SBS-EM), as well as students from other faculties at ULB, the learning tools and the latest insights in business history research on the topics mentioned above. This objective will be met by creating an optional course accessible by the MA students enrolled in “Business Engineering” and in “Economic Analysis and Policy”.

  • Third, as a commitment to the communication of research, the Chair ambitions to initiate a wide range of scientific activities (conferences, workshops, etc.) as a means to foster the public development of business history and enhance the interest of scholars, experts, and business actors for this field.

The current chair holder is Kenneth Bertrams, Professor of History at ULB.

The Scientific Committee is composed of Ginette Kurgan-van Hentenryk, Stéphane Kurgan, Mathias Dewatripont, John Taysom, Thomas Simon, Jacques Bughin and Kenneth Bertrams.